contentSutra.com - India\'s Digital News Monitor

Current Story

Northgate Technologies Sets Up Social Media India To Promote BharatStudent.com

By Nikhil Pahwa - Tue 28 Aug 2007 05:32 AM PST

BSE listed Northgate Technologies has informed the bourses that they’ve set up an Indian subsidiary called Social Media India Ltd, which will seek online advertising for their social networking portal BharatStudent.com. Vishnu Vardhan Induri, head of Bharatstudent.com has been appointed MD of Social Media India. [via the Hindu] The portal was launched on March 10 this year by Axill Europe, a UK based wholly owned subsidiary of Northgate.

Now Bharatstudent is a rather controversial site: it’s alleged that they’re hosting pornographic content, and luring users from Orkut by posting links to that content on scraps...not something that the exchanges and investors would like to know.

Posted in: JV & Investment, Social Media



Related Research from Alacrastore.com
14 Responses:
  • From Hemant Charya Tue 28 Aug 2007 09:38 AM

    Quote
    Bharatstudent is a rather controversial site: it’s alleged that they’re hosting pornographic content, and luring users from Orkut by posting links to that content on scraps...not something that the exchanges and investors would like to know.
    Unquote

    Nikhil, it’s not simply “alleged”.  It’s right out there that the exchanges and investors can’t miss.

    Hundreds of Orkut communities are spammed with objectionable content, with tons of direct links to Bharatstudent.com in communities message board.  If they do deny this sneaky attempt to steal the Orkut network, then they’d better issue a disclaimer (to convince their investors/exchanges), and stop their subversive activities, simply to show inbound traffic to their advertisers, investors and exchanges.

    I’m sure, they have platoon of temp. hires to spam Orkut and possibly other popular networks.

    Wonder why Orkut isn’t doing anything about Bharatstudent.com and its like? They’re a menace!!!

  • From Prashant Tue 28 Aug 2007 10:25 AM

    “Wonder why Orkut isn’t doing anything about Bharatstudent.com and its like”

    simple answer : Google is not a Fly swatter .killing /blocking them will make them a worthy adversary . which they are not . by any stretch of imagination .

    sites like Bharatstudent.com will have their 5 minutes of fame and die .
    seriously i don’t see a point why they are paying for server space and bandwidth to host all the crap .

  • From manish jain Tue 28 Aug 2007 10:46 AM

    prashant,

    “i don’t see a point why they are paying for server space and bandwidth to host all the crap...”

    simple so the shareholders can pump and dump the stock.

  • From FP Tue 28 Aug 2007 12:25 PM

    Whats the point in creating a separate entity to manage its online duties.. and to top of it the same person will lead the entity.

    Their online duties(activities) are anyways in news for wrong reasons.. ??

  • From mohit Tue 28 Aug 2007 08:33 PM

    Hi,

    Ya seems quite controversial.

  • From equityman Wed 29 Aug 2007 04:52 AM

    well, this company is all for stock market game.

  • From manoj Thu 30 Aug 2007 08:53 AM

    I guess all social networking sites are adopting the route, but why is every one so obsessed with bharatstudent.com? i have logged in to the site and never found any such objectionable content in the site. What ever said and done they have reached a state where people are talking about them (Good or Bad) just as all media is talking bad about orkut. lets not make it famous by talking about it if its not worth it.

  • From kiran Fri 21 Sep 2007 08:03 PM

    i agree with manoj ..i didnt saw any bad content in bharatstudent.com

  • From raghavendra sharma Fri 21 Sep 2007 08:08 PM

    great discussion

  • From vijay Sat 06 Oct 2007 11:45 AM

    i saw there but i did nt got any volgure videos…

  • From dimtim Sun 07 Oct 2007 11:17 PM

    BS guys are at it again.spamming the blog community now showing that bs as good site which is totally false-i have seen this vijay comments in many other blogs-guys get a life

  • From Krishna Mon 10 Mar 2008 09:58 PM

    I have not seen any porn content in BS. Bs guys are doing a great thing by filtering all those unwanted content

  • From sahan Mon 31 Mar 2008 11:57 PM

    yes krishna you are really correct

  • From HYD boy Fri 18 Apr 2008 09:52 AM

    Bharatstudent.com as mentioned is being promoted by a person named Vishnu Vardhan Induri who is currently based in Hyderabad, India… but is actually from the city of Vijaywada.

    He is a well known con man and has duped a lot of people.. including employees and suppliers… in his previous business of Event management.

    Northgate’s top management has people from his old company Applogic , and thats why they have financed his scam of a site!

    the site is a rip off of youtube and orkut and they are spamming the orkut accounts and emails of users all over India!

    + Axill ads is also helping them in this.... its a shame on the Internet and it should be shut down immediately!!!

    Any original site is welcome… but promoting such a rip off site… with no original content.. is purely criminal… and am sure that it will stop working within the next 2 years… causing losses to the investors but.. making Mr.Vishnu seriously rich… something he is in the habit of doing...such a shame!!!

    ban it!!!! lets look for originality and serious content… not copy and porn…

Post Your Comment

Mobile Options

» Mobile App
» Mobile/WAP Site

Send a News Tip

About

contentSutra.com is a news site covering India's digital content market.

Rafat Ali
Publisher

Cerius Shah
Contributing Writer

FOBM Conference - Oct 28 | Edison Ballroom | NYC

Recently on paidContent.org

Jobs

New Media/Interactive Job Listings

Post Job
More Jobs

Generous Supporters